Poets logo

Hold Me Again In Your Hands

Quietly Waiting

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
7
Hold Me Again In Your Hands
Photo by Richard Bell on Unsplash

One day I'll be decomposing 6 feet under ground

with wildflowers growing, spread over my grave

Hoping that you will make your way around

to pick me and hold me again

Silently waiting in this burial gown

lost to the darkness, still I carry a flame

Hoping my spirit will one day be found

as you pass by gently calling my name

See, I have become a part of the flower

its beauty seeps deep, down through the stem

Releasing an unending power

a love even death cannot condemn

Please don't wander too far from my side, love

it's your presence that keeps hope alive

Till we soar together on the wings of a dove

and rest forever, you and I, side by side

surreal poetrylove poems
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    For whomever this concerns, let it be so, my friend. Let it be so.

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    THIS A BEAUTIFUL POETIC LOVE STORY!

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    Beautiful. The love of two people in life and death.

  • D.K. Shepardabout a month ago

    As a hopeless (but also hopeful) romantic, I found this stirring and satisfying!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.