Poets logo

His New Love

He found a new girlfriend, and she's so beautiful

By Abigail SulfridgePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

She’s very beautiful

Almost too beautiful to believe

And it’s hard sometimes

Realizing you’ve been beat

She makes him smile

She makes him laugh

She makes him ache

She reminds him of me

She reminds him of what I did

She’ll talk about how horrible I am

She’s a fighter

Like me

She’s a winner

Like me

She has him

Like I once did

She loves him

Like I once did

When I see her face

I want to cry

My tear run dry

From how beautiful she is

Why her

And why not me

Why does she get to

Make him happy

She warms his heart

She warms his bed

She warms his hand

She warms his lips

I remember the days

When I did the same

But not anymore

The ring no longer there

My heart aches

My eyes water

My chest quakes

My arms shake

I remember last year

When my life was good

He warmed my heart

I warmed his soul

But not anymore

Now that’s her job

And rightfully so

We’ve all moved on

And that’s okay

But I’ll still remember the days

Climbing those mountains

Riding that Ferris wheel

Singing those songs

Writing those stories

But now that’s her job

And that’s okay

Now she’ll climb the mountains

And she’ll ride the rides

Now she’ll dream of a house

She’ll dream of kids

She’ll dream of a white dress

And a beautiful crown

That was once my dream

But not anymore

Now the dreams are gone

Now they seem like nightmares

Well done to you

Beautiful girl

You won his heart

Please protect it

Better than I could

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Abigail Sulfridge

I am from Boise, Idaho. I am a Medtech and am going to college to be a teacher. Writing and acting have always been passions of mine and I'm glad I get to pursue them here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.