Poets logo

His Glory Be

Hidden Demons

By Robin TranquilPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Like

His Glory Be

At home in my own bed now, hiding, covers over head;

Head swimming with the thoughts, of all things done and said;

The taste of yet another, still lingering on my lips;

The loneliness I feel, I’m drowning in abyss..

The feeling that I long for will never come like this;

There’s nothing that will fix, the sting of all amiss;

I know my road is wrong, been trying for a while;

To set the things at right, I’ve been neglecting all the while;

I try to kill the pain, it keeps coming back around;

I don’t know what to do, I feel like I am drowned;

Every time I think I’m better, yet again I fall;

Just start the cycle over, want to give up all;

I know He has a plan for me, but sometimes hard to see;

I just pray won’t be the death of me, before His glory be;

I don’t want to live in darkness, I want my joy to share;

With someone with the passion of all that life can bear;

I’m waiting for my soldier, the person by my side, strength, courage, faith, and love, to carry on in stride;

I know that God has plans for me, these things I can’t deny;

but as I walk through darkness these feelings cannot hide;

I know He knows my everything and that’s what I wish to give;

But my flesh so weak and tired, Sometimes I hate to live;

I want you to be present in my life and in my being;

But I feel so far away sometimes I don’t know how to give;

I want to be a light, give hope to those around me;

That they might see my fight, and so wander to the light;

So often though, my darkness consumes the sweetness, bright;

I crawl through pain and sadness until the morning light;

I don’t want these as my answers, I want a better way;

But every night this pain consumes me, and my demons have their way;

I know it won’t be always, I know this too shall pass, but In these moments hardness is all I see at task;

I know your light will come. I know you have a plan;

Please keep me in your safety and hold by the hand;

I don’t know if I can make it, I’m scared of who I am;

Please guide me in the darkness ‘cause I don’t know that I can

You know the road before me and there’s nothing I can plan;

What You have before me, though, I do not understand;

My faith will not be faltered, although at times seems grim;

The bitterness that comes, has sweetness on the rims;

At last I reach for you, Lord, my solace in my room, You hold me in your arms as a baby in the womb;

I know my choices show, as if I do not care, but You always know me better, than even I could dare;

You know the root of heartache, You know the road I bare, You know the demons well, that haunt me here and there;

I don’t know what the answer is, I don’t know when or where;

I just pray that You keep holding me through every taunt and tear…

my heart is weak with sorrow, that only I have caused;

My searching for my solace has only weight and snare;

How can I say I love You still, with all these sins to bare;

I know that You have taken them, and continue to each day;

But putting them back on You, still feels like hell to pay;

I know that I’m Your daughter and You love me anyway;

You won’t leave me nor forsake me, Your promises are true;

I just long for You to hold me, until I’m feeling new.

Please take these ties that bind me, and break the curse at hand;

Release me from this darkness, but Your will is my command;

I don’t really want to live now, as I fall in once again;

Please save me from this prison, this place that I call home….

Not everybody sees it, so much is left unknown;

Unless they’ve walked this walk as well, still even then, their own;

We all have our road to bare, and bare it too we shall;

There’s turmoil in the trudging, sweet mercy’s all we seek;

Exhausted from the fighting, I feel my mind grow weak;

I lay struggling in my bed now, my demons hard to tame;

Praying for the dawn of day now, that will not be the same.

ProseMental HealthinspirationalBallad
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.