Poets logo

HIS AGONY

A poem for her.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
HIS AGONY
Photo by Leonardo Sanches on Unsplash

I wrote this like I’m writing to you, hoping it’d come out better, come out wetter, what I’m saying is it’s an outcry, not a poem.

I’m spitting blood on the pages of this one, but that’s just because I’ve been grinding teeth when I should be asleep, did you know she skipped the lightning storm to watch a liar say forever, did you know she laughed when you set down the grief?

I want you to take me to the edge of the leather seats, I want you to wrap my skin in vines, I want you to cup my palms and watch the way we fill.

Did you know she had her hair tucked behind the ear, did you know she tore the photo from the wall?

I want to tell you to stay outside, I want to tell you not to pull back the curtain, I want you to rub the cotton raw while you leak from every scene.

Did you know she watched the foot slip on the ice, did you know she had the empty glass licked?

I want you to take me to the water, I want you to take me to the deep, I want you to take me to the dark, I want you to take me someplace where we burn bright as heat, I want to sweat out like the cigarette singeing fingers, drop me in the sheets, skin seeping out the old wounds, my dress buckling, lungs failing.

I watch us drowning ourselves to sleep.

love poems

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Oh my goodness! This was so intense and emotional! It seriously packed a punch!

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.