Poets logo

Hiraeth

I learned a new word...it means the longing for a home you can't return to....

By Zanaisha WhitePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Some things never change…

The condensation grows thick during a storm

I pause to flip the page as the wind blows and the thunder rage

The droplets form, and yet I know… I’ll be okay…

Because in more lifetimes than one, you’ve always stayed the same…

My home, intertwined with my heart and soul

And locked in further than my mind and memory can go.

There is warmth there, there is peace there.

And I will always find my way back there.

The way of this life can be confusing and aimless,

But time with you is soothing and ageless.

It’s the connection between the land and sea,

The pheromones of a rose to a passing bee.

The comfort of a mother to its crying child,

The flight of a sparrow out in the wild.

It is home….

It is there that I choose to strip myself from the nuances of this material world

Because each layer, you already know the way through.

Down to my core which you have attached yourself to.

A pure heart you allow to blossom and love and protect

A wise soul that you honor and respect

And the storms can’t collect, and I fully accept

That I would’ve stayed there…. In that familiar comfort….

With you…

The droplets stain the page and I flip it anyway.

I wonder, would you wait for me?

I promise, this world I will explore

To find you again, my home

The thing my soul cries out for.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Zanaisha White

I just love writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.