Poets logo

Hip Hop: A Culture, Not Just a Genre

A Poem to One of My Favorite Genres

By Verity GalePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Hip Hop: A Culture, Not Just a Genre
Photo by Dom Hill on Unsplash

You are the beat that pulses through my veins,

The voice of the streets, the stories of the saints.

You are the rhythm of my heart,

The rhymes that flow through my mind, apart.

You are the culture of my life,

The way I express myself, in rhyme or in strife.

You are more than just music,

You are a movement, a way of life, a fusion.

You are a force for good in the world,

A voice for the voiceless, a word.

"I'll be here for you, even when the mic is dropped,"

"I'll ride with you, even when the road gets rough."

I love you, hip hop, for all that you are,

You are my muse, my inspiration, my one true love, a star.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Verity Gale

Welcome to my world, where art, music, science, the latest news, and, most importantly, stories converge 🌎. Join me on this literary journey as I connect the threads of storytelling with the wonders of our evolving reality.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ellynn Vertilus10 months ago

    Wow. What a poetic way to express your love for hip-hop

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.