Poets logo

Him

A Poem About Betrayal

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Him
Photo by Andreas Haslinger on Unsplash

The lie

Perpetuated

In the loving trust

Now shattered

How can I believe

With a broken heart

Unmended?

The death of trust

Is one not easily

Rectified

Or resurrected

A mistake

That time may never heal

A wound

Unable to knit together

The drugs

Are tearing us apart

The Enigma unsolved

A mystery

So sad

The ending of a story?

The fairy tale

Not happily ever after

Anymore

A dark cloud

Over the forest

As it burns

Will love quench the flames?

Will I learn to trust

Again

With a broken heart?

A second chance?

Why can't this be simple?

A question without an answer

Will I say goodbye?

I can't

I love him

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jennifer Plate VanHoy2 years ago

    “The death of trust Is one not easily Rectified” Is such a true statement.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.