Poets logo

Him and Her

Short story by Jack Arnett

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

Him: Take my hand and don’t be afraid my dear. Soon we will live together forever in eternity. Like Bonnie and Clyde, it only takes a step and we fly. Don’t fear what’s to come. Come fly with me and we will live forever just you and I. No more pain, no more stares. Like the candle to the wind, life passes and we will be together. 

Her: is this the value of our existence? The crying sound of our parents harrow wails. We stake our place this night to do what’s right. It’s our persistence that makes our existence worth the fight. Desecrate this time with the easy way out? Why should we give in without a fight. Take my hand and step back from the edge to do what’s right. Nothing worthwhile is won without a fight. Live together in eternity you say? I see eternity in your gaze. True love can never be torn apart. 

Him: Love tears us apart again and again. Those who see us don’t know us. The condescending words and glaring eyes they pierce like a knife. Please take my hand and that all ends. Together we fly to eternity. 

Her: Fight with me here and now. That is no flight to fancy. Step back with me and be mine forever. Give yourself to me. Give me a kiss and tell me fate will break your will. Don’t wait to give yourself to me hereafter. Be with me here and ever after. Come to my arms I beg you! Don’t let them break our will. 

Him: just one more step. Happy days I give to you my days. Follow me my love. Follow me. See you on the other side..... 

Her: Nooooo! I give myself to you my darling. A life without you is one not worth going on. Just a few steps... A flight and ill see him forever on the other side. One more step... Tell me I’m ok, I’m dying here. I just need to hear your voice to tell me it is ok. Suffer the smallest steps. The wind howls my name, eternity speaks. I smile and picture your hand in mine. And now I fly....

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.