Poets logo

Highway

Autistic ramblings about sensory overwhelm.

By M. EdwardsPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
Highway
Photo by Nabeel Syed on Unsplash

Dodge the car, snap open my eyes, see where I am in delirium.

I stand adrift a bustling highway, ungrounded, untethered.

Sirens, clamouring bodies, honking horns and disgruntled civilians.

The cacophany is muddled yet still, I hear every independent sound with overwhelming clarity.

Roadside, a group stands in apprehension with their eyes fixed mercilessly on me.

Anxiety welds me to the tarmac — I'm unmoving, even in the face of unmoving traffic.

Clicking fingers from the window of a nearby car, shouting passers by, beeping of car horns.

Time has escaped me and I don't remember how I got here, what led me here, nor how I survived a potential grisly collision.

I don't know what to do, I don't even know how to move.

Overcome by every tiny sound, my ears, brain and body grip onto panic and leave my legs bereft of motion.

Nothing could snap me back into my body... Nothing except silence.

list
2

About the Creator

M. Edwards

Writing for the sake of writing. I love bizarrely niche essays, fiction and recently, poetry. Not a professional - yet.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • MARIE ODEMS 11 months ago

    GREAT WORK !!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.