Poets logo

Highway Hypnosis

we spoke about everything but the future

By Talia NicolePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Highway Hypnosis
Photo by kimi lee on Unsplash

I worry about spinning out of control,

moving too fast.

I’m on dark highways, he waits by the trains.

I once heard if you drive

too close to the guardrail this speed (over 90),

the metal sparks and catches fire.

It was cloudless one afternoon and the leaves were turning,

so we walked for a while. We didn’t grip each other

's fingers, but the same wind touched our skin

we spoke about everything but the future in the sun.

That night we sat out on the porch in the dark

Exhaling smoke, knees together, and spoke about China

and I cried about my family and work and things I preach about.

In bed I stroked his back and tied my fingers up in his hair,

strands of mine caught in the scruff on his face.

Lips on the mouths of bottles, we run

out of things to say and fall into each other.

I sit on the bathroom floor for a moment alone.

We whisper I Love you,

And I listen to the Paper Kites

Imagining life coated in honey.

One day I came home and he was quiet

On the couch with empty eyes. He didn’t know where he was

Going and was scared I wouldn’t come.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Talia Nicole

Freelance writer and JD candidate in early twenties.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.