Poets logo

High Flight 1974

NOT a political statement

By Dana CrandellPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
10
High Flight 1974
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

If I had the wings of an eagle,

Or maybe the ears of a beagle,

Perhaps I could fly

But then I'd get high,

And someone would make it illegal.

________________________

Author's Note: Please take the subtitle to heart. This is not a political statement, it's simply a little bit of fun with rhyme and meter. (I neither condone nor condemn the use of recreational plants.) I did, however, spend my high school days in the 70's. More importantly, I LOVE limericks, and I enjoy creating them with the "proper" structure. That's going to be a debated topic here. I'll stick with the form of the masters. Kudos to Lea Springer for this post: https://vocal.media/poets/rules-for-writing-limericks

vintage
10

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    and we shall name you......Dumbo!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Clean structure and very well done! 😍 Great concept!

  • Chad Umbergerabout a year ago

    Love this!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Very good.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Hah! So clever! 😁😁 I like the way you stuck to the β€œproper” form, I’ve been reading about that today as well and will probably try to create some proper ones as well.

  • Lol πŸ˜† nice one πŸ‘πŸ’―β€οΈ

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Nice flow! Well done

  • That was five lines of fun

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.