Poets logo

Hiding Behind A Smile

My True Identity

By Cathy DeslippePublished 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Hiding Behind A Smile
Photo by Ani Kolleshi on Unsplash

A smile as wide as could be masked every emotion of my identity. For years, rather than share who I was. Hidden and afraid, hiding my true identity with a mask.

My personality traits were all over the place: happy, sad, and even a basket case.

Until I found who I was: an intelligent woman who liked to have fun.

Not allowing others to make me feel less, my self-esteem became positive, and a new life had begun.

I am taking time out just for me, walking on trails and doing some photography.

Hidden with a smile for so long, hiding from the fact that things were all wrong,

The ability to write out feelings I kept inside taught me to be me, and I didn't have to hide.

Emotions are a part of who you are; your identity isn't what you own, like a car.

The best way to share who I may be is to tell you. It's not always what you see.

A woman who grows strength every day and cares so much for others in many different ways.

Learning to love who she wants to be and releasing all the negativity.

Full of love, joy and kindness for others and herself,

Learning you're not just important with wealth.

The enjoyment of life had to start; a new beginning was the only way.

The smile is natural; the mask has gone, and only she knows who she is every day.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so profound and powerful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.