Poets logo

Hiding Away The Heart Shadows

The Cleansing Of The Mist

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
13
Hiding Away The Heart Shadows
Photo by Shyam on Unsplash

The things I wonder when I’m restless - desperately needing to unwind

And the games my head plays with me, quietly inside my mind

If I curled up on my pillow, with my eyes closed up, real tight

Could I disappear in secret, into the silence of the night

Just dissolve into the darkness, like the shadows lost in shade

Or a raindrop on the ocean, be undone and unafraid

Could I steal away in twilight, becoming weightless, like the mist

Clinging to the eve of midnight, just awaiting to be kissed

By the dawn of new beginnings and rebirth of new starts

Refreshed and finally willing, to leave behind the shadows in my heart ❤️

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Very nice, gorgeous imagery. You drew me in right from the beginning.

  • Katieabout a year ago

    Lovely poem with beautiful imagery.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Beautifully written!

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Wow, I really got into this, I read and re-read it. Something about how you put it together was perfect.

  • Mabout a year ago

    I really loved this poem.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    So sincere. This is a wonderful poetic display of emotional transparency.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I just love the way you write, such gorgeous language. This really spoke to me, especially these lines, 'If I curled up on my pillow, with my eyes closed up real tight, Could I disappear in secret, into the silence of the night'. Great work :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.