Poets logo

Hide and seek

This event took place in my childhood home, where my family members and I often experienced strange occurrences. I no longer live there, but...

By spooky sessionPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
Like
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

This event took place in my childhood home, where my family members and I often experienced strange occurrences. I no longer live there, but the eerie stories remain vivid.

One Saturday evening, when it was just my oldest brother, his young daughter, and myself at home, my niece grew bored and wanted to play hide-and-seek.

It was around 8 or 9 pm in the summer, so the sun had just set but it was completely dark outside. After a few rounds, it was my turn to count. I searched the entire house but could not find them.

I went to the backyard, where the back porch light faintly illuminated our storage shed. My brothers sometimes used it as a spot to relax and smoke, so a chair was in the doorway.

Sitting in the chair was a man with a little girl on his lap. Assuming it was my brother and niece, I called out to them repeatedly, but there was no response or movement.

Unnerved, I went back inside, only to hear my niece's laugh coming from the living room closet. I opened the door to find my brother and niece sitting on the floor.

Noticing my alarmed state, my brother asked what was wrong. I quietly told him so as not to frighten his daughter, and we decided to stop playing for the night.

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakBlackoutart
Like

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.