Poets logo

Here, you will find peace...

And maybe more.

By Will Shimnom SimonPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Here, you will find peace...
Photo by Zohre Nemati on Unsplash

Here, you will find peace

and maybe more.

Stories of loss that do not move me

still have a place

in my battered heart.

How do you speak of war

when you've lost everything?

My mother speaks of death

as inanimate, lifeless.

But I know that death

was a seductress that

stole my father away.

To explain pain would be to rip

the bandage over your heart

and let the wound bleed afresh.

To keep quiet would be

to bear it all alone

and maybe die of sepsis.

But I know that there is hope

even in the darkest of times.

There is always light

even in the deepest of night.

And so I will keep writing

even when my words are weak.

I will keep speaking

even when my voice is hoarse.

I will keep fighting

even when I feel like giving up.

Because I know that one day

I will find peace.

And maybe more.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Will Shimnom Simon

Always the poet... Never the poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    Yes, keep writing 📝 because these words are Strong and Full of Love ❤️💯 Thank you for sharing your wondering Gift inside of this Excellent Piece📝🎯❤️❗

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Keep fighting. Peace is around the corner! ❤️👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.