Poets logo

Here to There

An Ode...

By Latoya Giles Published 9 months ago 1 min read
1

Here and there and everywhere. Point A to point b. Sometimes I get a little fancy and add in a point C.

To have one is OH SO convenient, but not always cheap. Money to keep you going, keep you clean and keep you well. I have one. Mine is my favorite color...baby blue. Mine is also a girl and she has a sunroof to boot!

I gave my girl a name: Skye, it is. She is multi-talented. She serves as a portable trash can, closet, even sometimes a bed for a nap. For a long or short time, she may be cramped full of people piled up on laps.

Whether brand new off the lot or twenty years old, I CANNOT and WILL NOT go through life without a car. I promise I am not lazy and have no issues walking or riding a bike, but I am a mom.

Shuffling my little people to school and otherwise would be exponentially harder, borderline impossible on foot or by bike ride. Did I say I am a single mom???

I suppose I should say 'vehicle' because let us not forget about vans and trucks too. They help us get to wherever we need to get to.

Technology has advanced, so now we can plug our cars in to get a charge of power to drive. Still waiting on flying cars. I hope they show up while I am still alive!

social commentaryhumorhow tofact or fictionexcerptsart
1

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Amazing. I loved it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.