Poets logo

Her

Emily

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
7

Whisper softly in my ear

Words my heart longs to hear

Caress my cheek softly with your hand

Walk beside me, footprints in the sand

Lie beside me, hold me tight

Together let’s face the long, dark night

Through the days, weeks, months, years

We, as two, can overcome our fears

As long as you hold my hand in your own

This I swear, I’ll never roam

When first I set eye on you

Your beauty, grace - I wonder who

Had the temerity to create such perfection

In what universe was nature’s selection

Of mingled genes ever done so very right

As to create such a perfect sight

A face so beauteous Helen cried

Your every word makes me sigh

Your slightest touch makes my blood run hot

Your endearments all I ever sought

Your slightest pain I want to heal

Your fingers in mine all I need to feel

When you agreed to walk with me

My blood flowed like a tempestuous sea

My days are lit by beauteous sight

My nights filled with loving delight

The day you said to me “I do”

I knew forever I’d fight for you

My universe would end if you said goodby

A river, an ocean, of tears I’d cry

So always will I place you first

Always shall my love slake your thirst

Our children will know the love of a happy home

Knowing Mom and Dad will never roam

Always at your door shall I park my cart

Till death indeed us does part

love poems
7

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    Just dropped into to say this is brilliant and like Lara Bingle used to say "Where the bloody hell are ya?" Hope all is good!

  • Awww, this poem has my heart! Sending you and Emily lots of love and hugs! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Robbie Newport3 months ago

    Words born from experience and gratitude.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Lovely! Women everywhere hope to snag someone who writes things like this for them 😁

  • Test3 months ago

    Beautiful and poignant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.