Poets logo

Her

A love lost poem

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2

Raindrops runnelling down my skin

Cooling my forehead, my molten core

Elicit memory of her cool hands

Stroking my every part

Bringing forth heat to combat

...

Sun's warmth feels like her breath

Hot, minty, exciting

Steaming my passion

As I turn my face to embrace it

...

Wind blowing my hair

Spectral whisper of her fingers

Eliciting tingles in my scalp

Causing shivers down my spine

...

Snow so pristine upon the land

Beautiful, unsullied in the dawn

Yet, like her, soon dirtied

As we thrash unheeding

...

Autumn leaves swaying

Twisting to and fro as life demands

Remind me of her dancing alone

Beckoning me to join her

Give in to psychedelic desire

...

Everywhere I look

I see her face

Everywhere I step

I feel her body beneath me

Everywhere I lay

I reach for her phantom embrace

Everywhere I go

There she is

Everywhere except where she belongs

Here in my arms

I miss Her

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    The yearning here was so intense. Loved your poem so much!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    gorgeous work! ❤'d it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.