Poets logo

Her Hair Was Blue

Who kissed me on the dance floor?

By Teresa RentonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Her Hair Was Blue
Photo by Rebecca Campbell on Unsplash

Published in the Pride edition of Stick Figure Poetry

* * * * *

Amidst writhing, sweating, pulsing, flesh,

blue ribbons fluttered

out of time to

White Wedding.

A mother's dream hovered,

pride before the fall

and crash!

Boy grinned - joker or fool?

Overworn garbs of spent flirtations

Soon forgotten

punchline

to a weather report.

Yet I never forgot that

her hair was blue.

. . . . .

She danced like me

but better;

she dressed like me

but better;

she flirted like me

but oh so much better.

Closer. Our lips touched

the lyrics

of Walk of Shame:

I'll do anything you ask of me.

. . . . .

In the crypt of lingering haze,

sweat, anticipation,

in dim-lit loud cellar,

a misty shroud settled over vanilla;

over black or white;

marmite;

'I only like boys.'

. . . . .

Then, like paraffin in puddles

in coalescence, colours emerged.

On that smoke-saturated dance-floor

who kissed me?

Who spread my colours like linking rainbows?

And reflected facets of

once blurred dreams - now

with diamond clarity.

Who?

It was no joker, no fool.

I only remember

her hair was blue.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Thank you for reading. Please share if you think others would appreciate my work. Other challenge entries for ‘After the Parade’ are:

Runner-up in the ‘From Across the Room’ challenge:

social commentary
10

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Tricia Vivienne Blanc2 years ago

    A lovely snippet of a moment, and all the emotions of it after. Beautiful!

  • Ally North2 years ago

    This is gorgeous

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.