Poets logo

Her Eyes

Of Sudden Connection, Longing

By YonathanJPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
1
Her Eyes
Photo by Alexandru Zdrobău on Unsplash

In her eyes, one thousand days of intimacy

A longing, a barely concealed love,

the hope of a connection, a secret bond in silence

an understanding. A shared, bittersweet paralysis,

oh what could've been!

*

Her eyes, so expressive yet their meaning, reflection of my thoughts.

Mystery even to me, seeing me as I was seeing her, for who she was truly,

someone I wished to love, someone I wish to love

*

Alas, her eyes may see someone desirable; that does not make me so.

Rather than embrace her naive lie and pretend,

pretend to be who she thinks I am, I'll stay silent.

*

Therefore I'll remain this idea, this beautiful lie in her mind.

She'll remain my idea, this lost angel among senseless others.

She will remain, as I remain, a possibility

*

Perhaps this fear, of breaking the illusion, the desire,

of uncovering the underwhelming truth, was stopping us from love,

from intimacy. For what is more meaningful-

poignant-

beautiful-

than a perfect lie?

*

I'll always remember her eyes. I can only hope,

she saw me as much in mine as I did in hers.

***

These fleeting moments, lost in each other's sight,

so much more than mere seconds, time itself stopping,

bowing to our pure, silent bond, the buzzing world vanishing.

In an abstract mozaic of her stunning, angelic self,

her eyes, so deep and enthralling, windows to her mind,

opened for me alone, a glance at her true self

*

Rarely I had such an innate connection with someone.

So much more than words, than actions. So much meaning

in a look.

I wonder if, were we to meet again by chance, she'd look at me

the same way?

*

Perhaps fortune will reunite me with this lovely stranger,

this lost angel, and our barely hidden hopes of love would flourish at last,

eclipsing truth even, and diving in her I'd witness the boundless reaches of

her soul, time and space rendered absurd in face of our connection,

our love, her eyes.

artperformance poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    👀✨ A beautifully penned exploration of unspoken connections and the intricate dance of emotions conveyed through eyes. Keep up the good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.