Poets logo

Her Demise

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6

When I read of her demise,

I felt no sorrow in my heart

I felt no pity in my soul

I felt no anguish in the

Knowledge that she was gone

I only felt jealousy that she was able to

So easily and effortlessly exit stage left

While I despair wondering

Why couldn’t it have been me instead?

I wake up every morning

Hating that I am still bound to this realm

Learning lessons that seem pointless

In this world full of hatred and intolerance

I am tired fighting this incessant battle of life

Filled with disappointments and regrets

That seems to be the foundation of life

I want to go home too

Now I lay me down to sleep

And I pray the Lord my soul to take

Me home

Just take me home

When I read of her demise

I felt no sorrow

Only envy

-Julie O’Hara 2024

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli 29 days ago

    I felt your grief and sadness that you wrote on paper. Expression of anxiety over a loss.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a month ago

    This is deep and sad. I hope that you are okay!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.