Poets logo

Helplessness

Who can help me?

By RICHARD WPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
Helplessness
Photo by David Taffet on Unsplash

In shadows cast by cruel daylight's glare,

I stand, small, alone in despair,

My heart weighed down by unkind words,

By bullies' taunts, by eyes that blur.

*

Through echoing halls where laughter rings,

For me, no solace, no gentle wings,

Each step's a battle, each breath a sigh,

In a world where I'm forced to comply.

*

In silence, I endure, spirit worn,

Each insult a dagger, each scorn,

Dreaming of escape, of a peaceful end,

To the torment I can no longer fend.

*

But in the darkest hour of my despair,

An angel appears with wings so fair,

A beacon of hope in my darkest night,

Guiding me back to the path of light.

*

With gentle words and an outstretched hand,

The angel helps me understand,

That I'm not alone, not forsaken,

That my pain can be healed, not mistaken.

*

With newfound courage, I stand tall,

No longer a victim to cruel thrall,

I speak out against the injustice I've faced,

To the bullies who left me disgraced.

*

To the schools, I report the pain I've borne,

In hopes that no other must be torn,

Between the agony of silence and fear,

Of speaking out, shedding a tear.

*

And though scars may linger, deep and sore,

I know now I'm worth fighting for,

For in the darkness, I found my light,

And with it, the strength to take flight.

sad poetry

About the Creator

RICHARD W

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake16 days ago

    Oh, helplessness is such a destitute feeling for all of us. Liked your work.

RWWritten by RICHARD W

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.