Poets logo

Hello?

Is Anyone There…

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 12 days ago 1 min read
6

Standing in the spotlight

in the corner of my room

like a plant leaning to daylight

attempting to shed off all the gloom

I hear a voice say faintly

only you can change your you

I furrowed my brows strangely

and said OK, here's what I'm gonna do

Eliminate the baggage

toss out the phrases, can't and won't

Get a grip of understanding

the harm in never and in nope

Cut free the pieces of me hanging

caught up in braided doubt filled rope

Let go of the common slurs and nagging

that sabotages any hope

That I can be pulled out of the wreckage

better than who I was before

It's time to give the message

the new me is knocking down that door

Mental Healthlove poemsinspirational
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár11 days ago

    Self sabbotage is not healthy. Powerful poem, Kelli!

  • Loved your work.

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Nice! I really liked "caught up in braided doubt filled rope" - loved your poem, Kelli.

  • Dana Crandell12 days ago

    Positivity overload! Love it, Kelli!

  • Heather Hubler12 days ago

    Fist pump! Love this!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.