Poets logo

~Hello!~

A poem and song about learning to move on, letting go and saying good-bye!

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
~Hello!~
Photo by Austin Chan on Unsplash

~Hello~

Hello,

Is it me you’re looking for

The smile in my eyes

In the way I say good bye?

Hello,

Is it me you’re looking for?

Every time I cry I think of you and me that night.

There’s never been a guy to hold me really tight

As I lie alone in my bed

Wondering if there’s love

Like the kind in my head,

So I wait for a day

That heaven will let me know

Which way I have to go

When I turn the engine on,

And take that nervous breath

Driving away from where we met

With no return date set!

When I think of you and me that night

All you had to do was hold me back,

I would have loved you forever

If you had felt just a little more something for me,

As I turn the engine on its taken years to move on!

There’s a whole world out there I want to see,

Success waiting just for me

It takes time to heal hearts that feel,

As I lie alone in my bed

Wondering if there’s love

Like the kind in my head.

So I wait for a day

That heaven will let me know

Which way I have to go,

As I turn the engine on

And take that nervous breath

Driving away from where we met,

With no return date set!

Hello,

Is it me you’re looking for?

The smile in my eyes

In the way I say good-bye

Every time I cry

And think of you and me that night?

I would have loved you forever

If you had just felt a little more something for me

As I turn the engine on, its taken years to move on!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.