Poets logo

hello stranger!

a poem

By Mescaline BrissetPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
Photo by Vincent van Zalinge on Unsplash

a walk in the park, one dog on a leash

close to him, the other one loose

I looked at the abundance of loose energy

then at him

bald head, calm and kind face

same as him

the reincarnation of my lost dreams

I may never see the original again

the new one said, ‘Good morning’ and covered his chin

in the tiny folds of his shirt collar, so sweet

my boy appeared in my mind; he was the same

humble despite all the leadership

leading us both to hell;

I replied without delay, ‘Good morning’

I didn’t want to miss this little chance

it was nothing really, just a hint

about what would happen if I let him in one day

how many good mornings would we still have?

the two dogs may have suggested

he was alone

or perhaps someone was waiting at home?

why didn’t show up then?

there were lots of children around

going to school with their mothers

did he have a little girl or boy of his own?

I’d bet you a million bucks that wasn’t the case

shyness is a sign of searching

was it him or me? maybe next time I’ll find out

I had the feeling that I had seen him before

so perhaps all is not lost

for the shy and the sad

it’s a good match after all

or we both will remain on the fence forever

under which his dog was peeing?

---

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

heartbreaksocial commentarysad poetrylove poemsinspirational
6

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.