Poets logo

Hellish Hearsay

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Dante (He Hath Seen Well) by Jean-Leon Gerome

Ah, Ravenna: the sun gazes at thee

Like an enraptured lover, enchanted

By your sophistication and beauty

But your denizens have to me granted

Nary a moment of sweet, silent peace

They gape and jabber and gawk as I pass

And their horrified cries only increase

If I glower at some young lad or lass

And mutter darkly about Hell’s grim map

For local folklore and gossip imply

That I, Dante, did traverse the great gap

Between this world and others, both ghastly

And paradisiacal, for the sake

Of magic poems, which I love to make

Ekphrastic

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 months ago

    I read all the lines with much love! A great one

  • Oooo, so blazing hot! Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Nicely done!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.