Poets logo

Heavy Heart

A Poem

By Bethany ..Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

We're still friends but we act like strangers

I don't know how I'm supposed to be okay with that

Constantly going through the withdrawals of tears and wanting you near

As much as I want to pick up my phone to tell you I love you I won't

Too scared of your reaction or if there will even be one at all

Scared of the heartbreaking regret of making that call

As much as I want to hear your voice, I'd rather play it safe

At least I know it's better for me to wait

I always wonder why you don't call me

Even if it's the silence between us, at least I know you're there

I wish I could turn back time to where I was in your arms

To where you told me you loved me

Nothing in the world sounded more precious than those words

Little did you know how long I waited for that to be said

Thinking of what it was to what it is now

Wishing that I could turn things around

Wishing I could take you back

I would promise you the world

You'd know better than to return

Truth of the matter is, I thought I was doing what was best for you

Best for you ended up being damaging to me

Did the mistake of taking myself out of the picture

One day you will love someone as much as you loved me

You'll be happy and I won't be the reason why

I think about that too much, it's not in any way healing

All you are now is a thick opaque fog that clouds my mind

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Bethany ..

My inspiration comes from what I take in from movies.

"One day I'll make a book and fill it with words i needed to hear"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.