Poets logo

Heaven Is Waiting

A Poem

By Douglas B. Wright Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Douglas B. Wright

For I know that you are almost gone,

For it is time to go home.

Heaven is waiting for you I know,

For now it is time to go.

As they come to take you away,

For tomorrow has become today.

For as I sit here in this pew,

I cry for you.

For as he says a kind word,

Heaven is waiting for you I know.

As they come to roll you away,

For now I know it is time to go.

Up on that breezy hill,

They place you in the ground.

For Heaven is waiting for you I know.

Now you’re gone to be with Jesus,

And you’re finally safe with him at home.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Douglas B. Wright

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.