Poets logo

HEARTS

Roses and Daisies

By Margaret BrennanPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
7
photo by: (Margaret) Donnie Brennan

HEARTS

ROSES AND DAISIES

♥ *

He slowly walked to the florist

To buy his wife a rose.

The clerk, then, offered him daisies.

“Aw, she’s had plenty of those.”

*

“But a rose, now, that’s something special,”

The old man continued to say,

“It’s to show how much I still love her,

And how my love grows each day.”

*

“But sir, you always get daisies

When you visit our store every week.”

“This time, I shall give her a rose bud.

To show her my heart she still keeps.”

*

“You see, it’s our anniversary.

Must be somewhere near sixty years.

She’s made my whole life worth living.”

He said, as his eyes misted with tears.

*

He left the shop with the rose in his hand.

He walked as if walking on air –

And hurried home to his loved one –

Who rocked on the porch in her chair.

*

His blue eyes twinkled with laughter.

She smiled as she lowered her head.

“My dear, I will love you forever.”

She blushed at the words he had said.

*

It’s been many years since they first said, “I do”.

Their youth has long ago passed.

But their love keeps their hearts young forever,

And like their devotion, will last.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Warmth, roses. daisies, love and rocking chairs. Many of us sure wish we will be able to ponder on such things, This is so lovely.

  • Awww, if this isn't just the sweetest thing! Such a lovely and wonderful poem!

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    💚

  • Alisa İnnokate7 months ago

    such a lovely poem!

  • Test7 months ago

    Lovely poem! I especially like the way you capture the old man's love for his wife and his desire to show her how much he cares. The contrast between the daisies and the rose is also very effective.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.