Poets logo

Heartbroken

A parent's heart

By Mother CombsPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
11
Heartbroken
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

No words hurt so much

As a grown child’s words

Spoken in anger

Filled with hate

No one's actions hurt so much

As a mature child’s actions

Done in the heat of the moment

Filled with loathing

No one can break your heart

Like a grown child

Who imagines a wrong

And suddenly hates you

For to give all your love

To them, from birth to infinity

And to be their whole world

For most of their life

Then to be worth spit to them

It is the most heartbreaking of them all.

heartbreaklistfact or fiction
11

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    I'm so sorry if this happened to you 🥺 This is one of the reasons I don't wanna have children. I don't wanna hurt myself in this way.

  • Shirley Belk8 months ago

    Oh, my God....have you glimpsed into my heart of hearts? I agree with The Invisible Writer. You touched the heart of aged mothers with an unspeakable truth

  • Manisha Dhalani8 months ago

    Heartbreaking. Makes me remember to watch my words. Thank you.

  • I felt this. Really felt this. Grown Children can hurt you, and frustrate you. Sometimes I ask where is the child who thought I was perfect when they looked up at me with young little eyes. Where is my best friend and who is this person who questions my advice and gets angry when I don't agree with them? lol But still that love persists no matter how old they get. They are still our children. Sorry for rambling

  • Alisa İnnokate8 months ago

    so deep and emotional

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    Oh, this cuts so deep

  • Heartbreaking. A mother's hope is always that her children will love her.

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    That is indeed heartbreaking. As a mother of now adult son, I hope I will never have to go through that. Powerful poem.

  • Arslan8 months ago

    A Mother's love for her Child is pure and pious

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.