Poets logo

Heartbreaker

*****

By Kai MichellePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Trigger warning: child abuse

Somebody told me once when I was young,

that I was going to grow up to be a heartbreaker

As if a three year old could understand hearts can be broken,

That my eyes were more than things on my face that allowed me to see

And that he thought they were beautiful

He spoke manically

allthewordsrunningtogether

Sweet smell of rum oozing off his skin

Drops of sweat falling onto my Sesame Street nightgown

Bright flash of the camera bringing stars into my vision

and

fade

to

black

Nobody told me I’d spend my life chasing that black moment of non-existence

How I’d come to hate my eyes so much they would be obscured behind colored contacts

Or how a passing glance in a mirror would stab me in the chest

Because I saw him staring back

How the smell of rum would make me violently sick but whiskey would make promises of salvation

That the only heart I’d ever truly, ruthlessly break

Would be my own

sad poetry

About the Creator

Kai Michelle

I question daily if writing is the thing killing me or keeping me alive.

Does the world deserve anything less than the perpetually tortured writer dressed in black? I think not.

I exist so I write. Sometimes I post it here ❤️

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kai MichelleWritten by Kai Michelle

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.