Poets logo

Heartbreak

My heart bleeds for you

By Regina BrooksPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Broken Heart image is by "The Concordian"

My Heart is Broken

Time goes by without a word....text....call

We were friends, a couple, then partners, now nothing

What happened?

I haven’t a clue

Was it fair? Was it justified? What you did...

No

You shouldn’t treat a person, a human, your confidant like that

You lied to me

Probably have cheated on me by now

Was that why you left me over the phone?

Ghosted me

When all you had to do was talk to me

We were supposed to have each other’s back

Isn’t that what you wanted?

Loyalty

Dependability

Committed and strong to the fault

What about communication?

Isn’t that important?

I miss talking to you and hearing your voice

Even if we were arguing

Did you ever love me?

Or were you playing me?

I was the fool

I was the fool who fell in love

Who fell in love with you

I consider it a lesson

One that I have definitely learned

Thank you

Thank you for teaching me, Mr. Player

But I am the Fool

My heart will not get me again

I have my head on straight now

It is out of the clouds

I am not living on “Fairy tales” anymore, Mr. Player

Thank you for teaching me

Even if I must stay away from men

I will not get my heart broken again

I fell in love hard this time

My heart broke with force this time

I cannot take it again

I will concentrate on me

I will focus on me

It will be myself only this time

Thanks for this alliance of “love”

It won’t happen again

I won’t fall in love again

It won’t happen, Mr. Player

Yesterday, I kept looking online to see you

I have done that many times

I have done that for many days, months, and years

Do you see me?

Do you look for me?

I look for clues

Any clues that maybe you do

Maybe you do look for me

I hope so

I must concentrate on me

I deserve to be my focus

My heart is broken still

I must get it fixed

You, Mr. Player are not my Fix

Drugs are not my fix

Alcohol is not my fix

Suicide is not my fix

Happiness and self-reflection is my Fix

What can I do to make myself better?

I want everyone around me to see me better

I want to be better

I want to be out of bed during the days

I want to be smiling

I want to feel happy

I want to feel alive

Do you think about me?

Do I cross your mind?

Did you love me at one time?

I want to think that you did

Did a girl steal your heart away from me?

Was our love that fragile?

Were our words said on nothing but air

Was our spousal relationship built on strength?

Or was it built on half-heartedness?

I miss you so much

Why?

Missing you breaks my heart

Wondering if you are okay

Where are you?

Are you mentally okay?

Are you physically okay?

Do you think of me?

Do you worry about me?

Do you check on me?

I couldn’t make it if I lost you

I don’t like your work

It’s too dangerous

If you never went home

If I never went home

Where would we be now in our union together?

Would our bondage still be strong?

Is it strong?

I expected different

Now I just want you here next to me

I want to see you alive

I want you safe

I want to have our lives in peace

Together

Forever

How did we get to this point?

Why haven’t you set further?

I keep checking

Checking online

I have a lot of emotions

Hurt, anger, love, and indifference

Why?

We said we would never use that word in our vocabulary

How do we get past this?

If you want to get past this

Do I want to get past this?

Wouldn’t I want someone who wants me?

Someone who wants me as much as I want them

Don't I deserve that?

I want someone who wants to touch me

Wants to talk to me

Wants to be around me

Why do I want those, and you don’t?

I have heartache

I am hanging onto our actions

Those speak louder than our words

They show our true commitment

And our true love towards each other

Forever

"It's a Heartache" by Rod Stewart and Michael Buble' song in video

Do I cross your mind?

Did you love me at one time?

I want to think that you did

Did a girl steal your heart away from me?

Was our love that fragile?

Were our words said on nothing but air

Was our spousal relationship built on strength?

Or was it built on half-heartedness?

I miss you so much

Why?

Missing you breaks my heart

Wondering if you are okay

Where are you?

Are you mentally okay?

Are you physically okay?

Do you think of me?

Do you worry about me?

Do you check on me?

I couldn’t make it if I lost you

I don’t like your work

It’s too dangerous

If you never went home

If I never went home

Where would we be now in our union together?

Would our bondage still be strong?

Is it strong?

I expected different

Now I just want you here next to me

I want to see you alive

I want you safe

I want to have our lives in peace

Together

Forever

How did we get to this point?

Why haven’t you set further?

I keep checking

checking online

I have a lot of emotions

Hurt, anger, love, and indifference

Why?

We said we would never use that word in our vocabulary

How do we get past this?

If you want to get past this

Do I want to get past this?

Wouldn’t I want someone who wants me?

Someone who wants me as much as I want them

Don't I deserve that?

I want someone who wants to touch me

Wants to talk to me

Wants to be around me

Why do I want those, and you don’t?

I have heartache

I am hanging onto our actions

Those speak louder than our words

They show our true commitment

And our true love towards each other

Forever

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Regina Brooks

Freelance writer, dog lover, and working on my bachelor's degree in Psych at Uni of Phoenix. I love recycling. I try to make the environment a better place. I believe in positivity and showing others a smile instead of negativity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.