Poets logo

Heart-Shaped Box

Deep in the woods my cold heart lays to rest.

By BPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

Deeper into the woods I trek

Trees blocking out the light

Everything a shade of grey.

One boot in front of the other

I go through the motions

Continuing my pilgrimage

My destination unknown.

You killed the good in me.

Left me cold as you.

Now I bury what you left behind

In a heart-shaped box

Deep in the forest

Where no one will find it

So no one can hurt me

Ever again.

The shovel drags behind me

Leaving lines in the dirt

The heaviness nothing near

The heaviness I felt

In the gapping hole left

in my chest where my heart

used to be.

I finally reach the destination

I was seeking.

The location of our first kiss.

I begin working towards my goal.

Deeper I dig.

The farther from the surface

The better.

I hide my heart-shaped box.

In the void much alike

The void you left in me.

No one else will ever hold my heart

It only beats for you.

The love you found so repulsive

So smothering

Will never disgust

Another living soul again.

Trapped in that heart-shaped box

Until the end of time.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.