Poets logo

Heart Mail, Soul Gone

On wind

By Amy ChristiePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Change hasn't been my friend

for a long while,

I fled,

every sign of a different breeze

had me chasing the gale,

I wanted storms and thunder,

I couldn't face the need

to see a different flower,

to breathe

new fragrance

and meet morning

on window sill that didn't know

my name.

***

What have I left behind

what stays

when I am gone,

last breath

and laugher,

my one wish

to be at peace

and heed the butterflies,

to seek what can still be,

to find my own forgotten

twilight

in waiting.

***

Can it still be there, in the shade,

all these years left to walk the past,

in memories,

I find the strength

in blooming,

I rest

once again,

my garden stayed, the ivy gates

wouldn't let key be lost,

wouldn't allow heart mail

to knock

at the wrong door.

***

Whispers of new beginnings

come on this breeze,

I sense

laughter is waiting in this corner,

it wants to play, come out,

find soul room, be at rest,

on sunlit meadow

of an afternoon,

when tea was sweet and jasmine covered

all heartache in embrace

no hate, no loss,

regrets melted in clouds,

this handkerchief kept wishes,

each tear gathered joy,

each smile left spirit prints,

I am home now,

ever was,

in thoughts,

in prayer.

***

Where have my rainbows gone,

have I chosen

wrong keeper,

the soul I trusted

left my side,

the hand I hold now, yours,

mistakes taught heart to listen,

to wait before the plunge

abyss is still around the corner,

with you, I'm not afraid

I'll make the wrong choice

or fall twice.

***

No sorrow in this garden,

all paths lead me

to you,

my happy place,

my stream,

for one wish,

and the next tomorrow

on wings of cherry butterflies.

***

© 2022 Amy Christie

Photo credit: Pexels

Originally published on LinkedIn

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Amy Christie

Passionate writer and journalist, striving to create meaningful connections.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.