Poets logo

Heart Attack

Death makes a surprisingly fickle lover

By Natale FelixPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
photo: https://unsplash.com/photos/dz6W-FURVfE

I felt Death once

It was love at first brush

He caressed my cheek and told me that

My flirting made him blush

And in the light of day, I sent him away

But in the dead of night, I asked him to stay

He said, “Don’t look at me like you’re ready for a lecture;

There’s nothing you could have done

But you must have seen me coming in the weather

If I catch you off guard, it’s not as fun”

I had no words

Who the fuck would?

He smiled at me in a way

I didn’t think Death should

And as much as I’d like to say I said goodbye for good

I met him in person again, just like he knew I would

He says “There must be a reason we keep coming together”

And stretches out his slender limbs with a groan

But once he’s asleep, I sneak off light as a feather

‘Cause I think he knows something I don’t

I loved Death once

With a flick of my wrist

And convinced myself my words

Made him powerless to resist

But from the first moment our lips met in a cruel kiss

I felt him slowly enclose me in his pale fist

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Natale Felix

Writer. As you're reading this, there's roughly an 80% chance that I'm daydreaming about someday building my own house.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.