Poets logo

Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes

For my nan.

By MikMacMeerkatPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
Photo by Luma Pimentel on Unsplash

Heads, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes.

Ears, hands, tongue, and nose.

Old eyes look for one they know.

Old ears listen for the sound of home.

Standing on a dock, watching you go.

The taste of salt on the air, as the distance grows.

A pain in my chest, though no knife shows.

Water in my eyes, my vision goes.

Time passes, stale and slow.

Brightness gone, all feeling low.

A knock at the door, a bundle in tow.

A new baby brought in from the snow.

Young ears listen for the sound of home.

Young eyes look at one they will know.

Ears, hands, tongue and nose.

Heads shoulders knees and toes.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

MikMacMeerkat

I spend so much time daydreaming I figured I should start writing it down.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.