Poets logo

He was a Monday

For the love I've never had

By Myiah L BengstonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
He was a Monday
Photo by Tim Marshall on Unsplash

I held my breath

Silk, frozen whiskey.

Winter on my tongue

his voice poured over me

I melted.

Like snowflakes on fogged glass

Jagged,

delicate.

Ice crystals rippled in his eyes

A glimmering gold.

My blood freezing

holding this moment.

Lighting races beneath my ribs,

electric constellations

dance over my skin.

It was a pleasure to burn.

As if playing symphonies

in a swarm of fireflies.

Love is,

the conscious curse.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Myiah L Bengston

There is only so much I can say in a moment to get your attention. But a single moment of your attention to read is all I need. I love to write. As a teacher and aspiring author, I write everythng I can to try and get better every day

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.