Poets logo

He never existed...

Only in my darkest of dreams

By Justine VroomPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

Nothing at all...

He just left and never came back. As if I meant nothing.

He looked at me with eyes full of undecipherable emotion. I thought I saw loneliness and loss. I thought I saw the deepest of regrets. I thought I saw more, but I didn't know what to make of it.

He's tall, with a comparably short body. He's muscular, but his skin is pale and sunken. His hair is bleached and stiff and wiry, with a sharp salt and pepper. He's got a short beard, and his eyes are bright with a manic intensity that's so hauntingly familiar. He has his sleeves rolled up, revealing a pair of arms as hard as strong stonework. His forearms are muscular and his hands are scarred, and his fingers are long and delicate.

A life of cruelty and torture. The most physically and emotionally damaged young man you could ever come across.

Although I never felt love more deeply, I was confused by his stare. I didn't understand his countenance, but I knew he was a man of profound misery. I sensed he had suffered greatly, and thought I could see a kind of animalistic aggression in his eyes. His mouth was a dark cavern.

I see in the shadows of his heart, the smoldering embers of pain and darkness. I see in the shadows of his soul, the ashes of desire.

One day, like a wiff of absidian and smoke he was gone. The subtle scent of him lingered, like a distant sun reflecting off the ocean.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.