Poets logo

He Left Me and Took the Dog

Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
9
Courtesy of Teresa Renton (Author)

‘Where are you?’

I mumble to that empty space beside me,

my eyes, still hazy

from sleep, dreams, and the early morning sun

squeezing in through the gaps

of partially opened blinds.

I consider the empty space

for a moment,

resting my eyes on the creased pillow

that has somehow edged its way closer and closer

to mine

throughout the night

an oversized marshmallow

sweet vanilla white

like my wedding dress--

but that party's over now.

I note the carelessly tossed duvet,

and the living breathing notebook

on the bedside table,

a coffee ring stain on its cover;

a pen tucked into the last visited page.

The dog’s bed is empty.

I am irked by intrusive rumbles from outside,

then I remember: it is bin day;

rumbles of bin-wheels

on concrete canvas,

and I smile.

I smile because I never have to take out bins.

I smile because I know

that within that notebook

linger stories

of how our children laughed.

My name infused with intimacy

occasionally graces the pages.

I smile because the door opens

our dog bounds in,

playful,

having been fed and taken out.

I smile because

a cup of tea enters the bedroom,

followed by my husband,

and just like on our honeymoon,

playful mischief twinkles in his eyes.

* * * * * *

Thank you for reading and please share if you feel someone else would enjoy this. See a selection of more of my work below:

Runner-up in the ‘From Across the Room’ challenge:

or

or

love poems
9

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.