Poets logo

HeLa, I know

A poem for Henrietta Lacks

By G. A. BoteroPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

(pronounce HeLa as heh·luh.) Get it?

------------------------------------------------

HeLa I know that my cancer would be immortal

Yet, here I am, a forgotten soul

My name known only to a few who use me

Know beyond name to only those that knew me

HeLa I know I would be, yet, another Black woman

Exploited for her body

Without consent and

lacking compensation

For the greater good they say

Without any pay

Not for me, but for those that loved me

That is the American way

social commentary

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is great - though I needed to Google Henrietta lacks.

  • I wrote this poem on a prompt from Sarah Allatt for a poetry contest on allpoetry.com. I had never heard of Henrietta Lacks before the prompt. I still have much to learn about her, but I know that cancer research, researchers, and survivors owe Henrietta a great debt. Let’s not forget her name. Thank you Henrietta Lacks.

  • This was very profound and poignant. Well done!

G. A. BoteroWritten by G. A. Botero

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.