Poets logo

After Freedom

Journey home - a poem

By G. A. BoteroPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
2

I took a deep breath today

Welcomed the cold air into my lungs

It's been a long while since I felt rain drops on my skin

Kept in the shadows, alone and quiet

Since I crossed the Grande

It's been a long while since I felt rain drops on my skin

I exhaled in relief today

The cold wet sand seals my soul like a bung

It's been a long while since I slept in peace

Bunk beds and florescent

Cold ICE oversees

It's been a long while since I slept in peace

I ride a Greyhound today

A bumpy thirty-six hours on this steel dun

It's been a long while since I've seen my kids

I hope they see me for me

Greys and all

It's been a long while since I've seen my kids

childrens poetrysocial commentarysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This hit me so hard! It was so poignant!

  • Manisha Dhalani7 months ago

    What a bittersweet poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.