Poets logo

He Is My Dad

The Comfort Of A Father

By Eli BishopPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
He Is My Dad
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

I remember when we were separated!

I was told, I had to live with strangers

So sad, so lonely

My little heart, so agitated

Tears poured down like waterfalls

My eyes swollen and puffy

It wouldn’t stop at all!

For a second i thought

Thought of the moments we had

I knew he would come back for me

He is my dad!

He travelled on trains and caught few busses

Just to come visit me

He never missed a chance or an opportunity

I was most excited, when i was able to see you

It was never long enough

And, that couldn’t be more true

The times at the park, were priceless

Our scheduled hours, ironic, was timeless

We would have foot races

He never let me win

But, losing to him, still felt amazing!

Whenever i was with him

My heart was warm

I was just glad

Glad to know

He is my dad!

A month passed by

One moth turned into two, so grim

Every minute, every second

I was thinking about him!

We spoke on the phone, like we usually did

But, this time was different

He had good news

And, the news was big!

He said be ready for the visit

At the end of the week

Something about the look in his eyes!

I knew, I was in for a treat

The time has come, for me to see him again

But this feels different, from all the other times spent

He gave me a hug and held my hand

I heard three words, were going home!

I felt that, go through my flesh and bones

Somethings, I was just to small to understand!

But, I knew he would come for me

He is my dad!

love poemssad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Eli Bishop

Everyone has a dream, some big and some small. I believe you can choose what you want to be in life, if you be consistent and stay ambitious, you can achieve. I consider myself an upcoming writer who is determined to be the best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.