Poets logo

Having Grown

hope there's an encore

By Brenton FPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
5
Having Grown
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

i have grown old

pretending what i knew was real

i have grown cold

telling myself it’s all part of the deal

i thought i was brave

i thought i was bold

i thought i didn't have to feel

i sold my soul, not for love not for gold

and now this empty nothing is real

i have grown tired

chasing dreams that weren’t mine

i have grown jaded

afraid that i wasted my time

i thought i was wary

i thought i was smart

i thought i could beat this game

i sold my control when i sold my soul

so now it’s just more of the same

i have grown saddened

by the lack of real choices ahead

i am becoming maddened

all these circles in my head

i thought i was tough

i thought i was cool

i thought i was better than this

slowly i count all the things i can’t touch

the things that i’m gonna miss

...

sad poetrysocial commentary
5

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden2 months ago

    Damn....(blinking with teary eyes)

  • This was so poignant, emotional and relatable. Loved your poem!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Deeply felt; I think many feel we were on a broken path for too long. Hope is still a good thing to me. Very raw piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.