Poets logo

Having Big City Relationship Issues

The Work Shop Collection

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Lithuanian/American Author/Poet Marc O'Brien

In an international world ever cold

Breathing bitter air, I have been told

From the weather reports

Before the sports

I finally was surprised

By the lies

My love sent to me

Pondering everything sipping tea

Not getting drunk

Instead packing the trunk

Under our bunk

Beds stacked in two

What you think I was a fool?

Acting cool

That night

When you caught my sight

Captured in the flashing dimming lights

Not so bright

Noticing the outfit tight

Displaying physical credible might

Minus an education

And protection

I will depart this upscale flat

Leaving it empty for the next player to bat

I ask you this question

Wondering if this was a lesson

Was this relationship real?

Or just another business deal

Signed sealed and delivered

Scene setting a couple scripted dinners

As I head out the door

Going back down to the first floor

Where two bedrooms were mine

And I used to shine

On my porch

Lighting my golden hair torch

On fire

Relishing in all that admire

No longer needing elevator stories

Bloody and gory

Ending “gee I am sorry”

Instead, feet on the ground

Successful and sound

Known in town

Smiling never a frown

Every day we will probably pass

Pushing the artistic window wooden handles in brass

Spinning the revolving turnstile war

Handling respectable chores

Basic daily bores

Until another one decides to engage in romance

Enjoying a performance arts dance

To a musical tune

Under the moon

Falling head over heels

Confirming a heart to steal

Now you know how I feel

About your place in New York

Where every second it is the same routine work

heartbreak

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc OBrienWritten by Marc OBrien

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.