Poets logo

HAVING A BAD DAY

Me, having a bad day – I’ll try to explain

By Tammy WellsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
When Australia went into lock down, all of a sudden my thoughts started rhyming, so I wrote a poem ... and then I wrote another ... and another - this is poem # 10

HAVING A BAD DAY

Me, having a bad day – I’ll try to explain

Crazy, mad thoughts, going ‘round in my brain

The tiniest thing, will bring me to tears

And then … I make mountains, out of my fears

Does anyone love me ? … Does anyone care ?

If I go outside … will others just stare ?

It’s ok to have your own pity-party, I guess

And some days, it’s fine, if you don’t even get dressed

I hate feeling this way, when I feel really bad

Feeling sad, makes me sad … feeling mad, makes me mad

On really bad days … I just cry and cry

Sometimes, there’s not even a good reason why

Being in lockdown, is taking its toll on me

And, it’s all, very different, to how I thought it would be

I never, before, really understood

Why people snapped … and now … I could !

I used to be happy, all of the time

Now I repeat … it’s fine ! it’s fine ! … IT’S FINE !

The new thing now is, “Stay Covid free – do the 3”

Hand-washing, distancing, the App – and we’ll see

It’s so sad to think, this is how we will live

In the future, we’ll look back, on the hugs we could give

When I need, to pull myself, out of this mood

I listen to happy music … and cook yummy food

Writing this down, expressing how I feel

Wishing sometimes, my heart, was made of steel

Fake it till you make it … act a happy part

And try, to bring joy to others … well, it’s a start

You are not alone, and, we WILL get through this

A smile on everyone’s face – THAT is my wish.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.