Poets logo

Hashtag

Spoken Word Poem

By D.S. WallsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

If my life gets taken by the police don’t turn me into a hashtag.

Don’t say my name, whisper it quietly.

Use it as a code to conduct meetings doused in secrecy

Use it as motivation to find the strength to meet in the streets.

Not as a vigil, I want things to burn.

Set fire to my body and let it be your guiding light, no action will be taken in my death, so take action while still alive.

I don’t want a conversation.

My life isn’t going to be a lesson for an ignorant person to grow.

This is the age of all-knowing, you have a fucking computer?

Then you should already know.

I’m not holding your hand and explaining how white privilege works.

I am not guiding you through a history you should have already learned.

No one should have to explain why being unarmed and being shot by the police shouldn’t happen.

I shouldn’t have to show you case after case where white men walk away from the same situation.

In grade school science we all were taught the difference between a fact and theory.

Well, the fact is; the theory that white people are superior has left too many bodies.

My theory?

The fact that we keep trying to appeal to the humanity of beings that aren’t human is useless.

We need new shit.

They don’t learn when you point your finger and say do better.

It took us being backed into walls to show our claws and let them know they should have known better.

These quiet types, these silents fights, these don’t get too aggressive nights were cute.

But what did they do for Trayvon Martin, Eric Garner, Sandra Bland, and Tamir Rice?

I don’t want the fantasy of justice and fair trials,

Don’t let the murderer talk.

Drawing first he already has his finger on the trigger, throwing our hands up cant be a response.

Peaceful protest is for new cities.

But we live in the old west.

A gunslinger with a badge is still a criminal, so don’t turn me into a hashtag, I want revenge.

Kick down their doors and make them stare into our eyes.

Cause I’m tired of them kicking down ours, shooting shots into our chest while our children watch on.

Shooting shots into beds while children sleep on, and paying no price.

Make them see what they try so hard to ignore.

You’re not turning off your tv this time.

You’re not getting off of the internet.

You need to see what your safety costs me.

Cops were never made to protect black people but to give whites the comfort to sleep at night.

They rangled us as slaves and put us back in our place so that you could keep on with your life.

Well, I’m no longer paving your streets with black bodies so you can feel safe to walk.

Let me show you where your heels imprinted on my skin leaving its mark.

Let me show you how your silence plays its part.

I don’t believe in race-baiting, race wars, or even in race, but I believe in segregation.

And your quiet acceptance of our genocide told me your placement.

This is a battle.

You fight to keep illusions and I am fighting to keep people alive.

A trending topic is not going to be watching my mother cry.

Don’t exploit her pain, rain hellfire in the streets.

Show my mom squaring off with the police.

I give them no more respect, only new rhetoric.

If all lives aren’t equal then no life matters?

But Blue lives matter, even though the blue comes off.

I’ll be black for the rest of my life.

Until a blue lives misconceptions drives his aggression and turns me into a hashtag.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

D.S. Walls

I write, so therefore I am a Writer. The question that underlines the words in all my works; Am I a good one?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.