Poets logo

Hard-Y

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished about a month ago 1 min read
5
Photo retrieved from Google Images.

On a snowy night

in December 2008,

I noticed

a Russian letter

that looked

like a "bl"

in the English language.

When I discovered it,

I asked myself two questions,

"What is that letter?"

One minute later,

I responded,

"It is a hard-y."

It'd create

that worrisome noise

one would make

when punching a pillow

or pulling a rope.

Y

as in Emily

or hockey

in English

was bl

as in torty

or slony

in Russian.

Y or bl

was the most

head-scratching

but fascinating letter

of the Cyrillic alphabet.

Photo retrieved from DeviantArt.

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

Photo retrieved from Google Images.

Authors notes:

torty: cake (plural)

slony: elephants

surreal poetryFree VerseFor Fun
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 29 days ago

    This is fun and a creative Cyrillic maze! It's been decade since I studied Russian and never to the extent that you do. I can speak some but can not read. Thanks to all the new techy stuff, I can ask my pal Harry to translate in a pinch.haha

  • Andy Pottsabout a month ago

    When I was learning Russian, they told me ы was the sound you might make when someone punched you in the gut. Which says a lot about my Russian teacher, right? Lived in Moscow for 10 years or so, still struggle with the difference between ы and и. Resigned to never mastered grammar, especially verbs of motion. But can at least hold a conversation now.

  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    fascinating. So, if the BL is a "y," then what is the Y there in the Russian alphabet?

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Interesting and fun!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Mariann Carrollabout a month ago

    Great poetry in learning Russian letter sound. You’ve been learning foreign languages since 8, Wow. That is so cool. I have been learning a lot about you through your poetry. 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.