Poets logo

Happy New Years From an Alcoholic

I am alone

By Jack KiddPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

In two minutes and forty three seconds it will be 2017.

I sit on the counter drinking wine,

Drinking straight from the bottle and I am alone.

Lipstick stained lies slipped from her lips,

just like the smoke leaps from my last cigarette and I am alone.

The chill in the wind rips the warmth from my soul,

it encases my heart in ice and I am alone.

In the night my mind runs rampant,

screaming at my conscious everything that I couldn't be,

threatening to break my psyche and I am alone.

"New year, new me," the streets shake with excitement and glee.

I too used to get lost in the glitter of progression but here I sit,

stuck to my past as I watch her burn our future.

I watch my dreams blush in a blaze,

and my tears will never be enough to calm the flames.

I sit in as a victim to her reckless arson,

and scoff through my tears because I called it love.

I lay in the midnight embers and I am alone.

I watch the rest of my life smoldering red,

like the end of my cigarette and I know now,

In absolution that I am alone.

J.B.K

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.