Poets logo

Happy Hour

When I was with you, I smiled.

By Rayn BPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

It’s when my serotonin

Dances with dopamine,

And endorphins meet up with oxytocin

At their favorite bar for happy hour

That I think of you.

//

When the scent of fresh brewed coffee

Transports me back to the old diner

Where we shared booths and breakfasts...

//

How my laughter feels

Like the aftershocks

Of your jolting jokes,

Timed like earthquakes.

//

Sadness

Does not spark the memories...

When I was with you,

I smiled.

//

So now,

When my mouth curls up

Like an upside down rainbow,

Your face returns.

//

But as I step towards you,

The rug pulls out from underneath

And my feet land in the quicksand

Hiding below...

But I do not struggle.

//

Let it take me slowly,

So I can stare into your eyes

And allow my gaze to linger

Until I am swallowed whole.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Rayn B

I have been writing poetry and lyrics since I was a child. I have recently started writing short scripts for “found footage” horror TikToks. I dream of writing books and full length screenplays. Thanks for being in this community with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Another brilliant piece. Well done. So much to love here, my fave being "upside down rainbow."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.