Poets logo

Happy Father’s Day

Wish You Were Here

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read

You’ve been on my mind a lot today, most days, if I’m honest

❤️

I know, I’ve been watching over you from Heaven, love

❤️

We spent the day out on the lake, I tried to keep my promise

❤️

I wouldn’t miss it, was there, just up above

❤️

It’s been hard without you here, somedays I feel pretty lost

❤️

Remember that my love for you is strong

❤️

It’s father’s day down here, that’s when I’m missing you the most

❤️

We’ll be together once again, before too long

❤️

Well, I hope I made you proud, I did it just like you used to. It was definitely different without you.

❤️

It was beautiful my child, you made your daddy pretty proud. Now, get back to your life and remember, live it well

❤️

I sure love and miss you pops, please tell mom I love and miss her too

❤️

She’s right here smiling, waiting, till we can see you again, Kel

Stream of Consciousnesssurreal poetrylove poemsHoliday

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    HUGS

  • John Cox14 days ago

    Loved this Kelli! Heart felt! I have to say your story pic is just incredible!

  • This was so touching. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • ROCK 14 days ago

    Bawling. I wish I had a father to admire and respect.

  • Ameer Bibi14 days ago

    Wonderful job you have done Amazing insights

  • Babs Iverson14 days ago

    Poignantly penned!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mark Graham14 days ago

    Great work for a poem that is written out of pure love.

  • Nice Kelli! Happy fathers day 🥰!

  • Very touching conversation

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.